top of page

Young, Sick and Invisible

My illness has shaped me,
But it does not define me.

'Am I ill because God is angry with me ..?'


Bible text

'He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is His love for those who fear Him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us. As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear Him” (Psalm 103:10-13).'

When I was first diagnosed with my illness, my mind immediately questioned whether I was being punished for something I had done against God. I had a mental picture of God placing this in my life to punish me as a result of an unknown offense I had committed in the past.

The devil will bombard you with thoughts of things like this, that you have done wrong, convincing you that this is the result of your wrongdoing in the past. He wants to destroy your trust in Him, and although he cannot take away the power of Jesus to wipe away those sins, he can make you think you are paying for them.

Whether you are religious or not and have an illness, whether it be chronic, mental or physical, and think you have it because you've done something in the past to make you deserve it almost, I want you to know 'We have all sinned' (Romans 3:23), but those sins have already been paid for. You are cleansed of any bad thing you have done because of Jesus’ sacrifice.

God may allow sickness to teach us or to shape us in some way, but He does not deal with things we do wrong by pouring out his wrath on people. He has given us this as he knows we can deal with it, he knows how strong we are.

I understand that not everyone reading this will be a Christian, or have any religion at all, but I want you to understand that this really isn't your fault, we can handle this.

Until next Monday,

Bethany S.

220 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page