top of page

Young, Sick and Invisible

My illness has shaped me,
But it does not define me.

'Quiet the mind, and the soul will speak.'


Butterfly

Now I'm not going to lie, I get a tad annoyed when people come out with 'well you're just cold, aren't we all ..?' or 'so you get hot ..?'. This is one of many reasons that stops us from openly telling people how we feel or what we go through. It's because of this that I'm writing this post today, it doesn't matter what Chronic illness you have, or even an illness, mental or physical, I hope that this post helps you in any way possible.

I went around social media asking people why they may feel uncomfortable talking about their chronic illness/es to people who may or may not understand. As for myself, I am very open in most ways, when people ask I'd be more then happy to explain, its just those sly comments that make me twitch lol.

I think what people don't understand is how much its depresses us in the first place, it's like a massive blow to life. I was once a lover of all weather, me and my sister would love to play outside, dress up, play all sorts of games, stay up late and watch films, I used to cook her breakfast before school, but all of this changed at the flick of a switch. I am now in bed for ages, I stay indoors on average 6 days a week, wearing mostly pyjamas as that's the only thing thats comfy. I get tired easily, so games have to be countertop quick games, she cooks her breakfast now as I can't wake up that early anymore, when I do cook, I have to prepare myself for the burning sensation in my body, like a mini fire has been lit internally and nothing will put that fire out.

Once you take into consideration all of this, aswell as every other peoples unique stories you'll realise we don't 'just make it up', because really, who would make this up ..?

The general census stated that they don't openly tell people because of judgment, the fear of being called 'lazy', or just the fact they think you're complaining too much. The hate of cancelling plans, lack of support, rejecting a drink or smoke and having to explain yourself after. The main one ..? 'You're too young to be ill.' Yes ladies and gents, even I hear this. Just have to answer as simple as possible, 'Illness doesn't discriminate age.'

I get it, I really do, how do you reply to someone when they tell you about their chronic illness ..? This makes many people awkward when you explain that chronic means we are never going to get better, the reality is that there will probably never be a cure in our lifetime.

I think some people get uncomfortable because they think I want something or am looking for answers from them. All I want is understanding, compassion and prayers. To not feel alone, like someone cares. I think some people get irritated because they think I'm complaining and whiny, but I just need to vent, to be validated. So many people seem to not understand the simple need to be validated.

There is no shame in planning for the rest that your body needs. If someone does not get it, and thinks you're lazy, that is their problem. they do not have to deal with the aftermath of a flare up, you do.

I want to end off by saying you are not alone, it doesn't matter what you are going through, whether we have been in the same situation or not, there are people who care, strangers, family, friends, we do. I understand, I have been through it, depression, anxiety, stress, but there is light at the end of the tunnel, there will always be someone there for you.

Until next Monday,

Bethany S.

164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page